Saturday, February 19, 2011

New Legislation Honoring Cold War Veterans


WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Olympia J. Snowe (R-Maine), Susan
Collins (R-Maine), Jim Webb (D-Virginia) and John Kerry
(D-Massachusetts) today introduced the Cold War Service Medal Act of
2011, legislation to authorize the design and award of a service medal
to honor America's Cold War veterans.  Such a medal does not currently

"The commitment, motivation and fortitude of our Cold War Veterans was
second to none," said Senator Snowe.  "The brave service members who
served honorably during the Cold War should be recognized for their
service, and this legislation is a long overdue step towards creating
the service medal that they deserve."

"This legislation will express our sincere gratitude to all Cold War
veterans, including the thousands of those who served in Maine, for
putting the comforts of civilian life aside to advance the cause of
freedom," said Senator Collins.

"The millions of Americans who served in uniform in the armed forces
during the Cold War, spanning more than four decades, were the living
embodiment of our nation's strategy of deterrence," said Senator Webb.
"In their efforts to preserve peace, hundreds died during isolated
armed confrontations when the Cold War flashed hot at remote locations
around the world. This legislation will appropriately honor those who
served in an effort that resulted in the largest single expansion in
the number of democratically elected governments in world history."

"For almost a half century, more than 20 million soldiers stood on the
front lines of our nation's Cold War defenses," Senator Kerry said.
"At a time when humanity itself hung in the balance, they were ready
to spring into action if the Cold War became a shooting war, and they
too were separated from their families and loved ones for long,
difficult periods. They deserve full recognition for their service and
sacrifice, and I look forward to working with my colleagues to enact
this important legislation."

CONTACT: Katie Bruns (Snowe)

Liz Johnson (Collins)

Allison Jaslow (Webb)

Jodi Seth (Kerry)

1 comment:

  1. Superb blog post, I have book marked this internet site so ideally I’ll see much more on this subject in the foreseeable future!


Do you have something to say?